Readings debut crest depicted five maidens heads on a blue shield – closely based on the common seal of the town. The club then utilised a simplistic R.F.C. shield design come 1953, amending in type and colour to red and gold in 1965.
After winning the Fourth Division Championship in 1979 the club introduced an all new crest for 1981 featuring three Elm trees upon water. A reference to the local Elm Park and London's River Thames.
With The Royals returning to Division Two in 1986 Reading adopted another new design incorporating new club colours yellow and white in a classic shield layout.
1996 to 1998 saw the reintroduction of the clubs Elm tree crest marking the centenary of Elm Park whilst ear marking the clubs move to a new home at The Madejski. Heralding a new era for Reading the club introduced a complete redesign of their crest featuring their iconic blue and white hoops, a crown for Berkshires Royal status and the local landmarked Maiwand Lion.